Fill out the contact form below to get in touch with Manikas Law. Tell us your story and we will tell you how we can help.
The Virginia Legislature has essentially criminalized simple speeding. In Virginia, under Va. Code 18.2-862, anytime a driver is exceeding the speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more, or is driving at a speed in excess of 80 (regardless of the speed limit) they are committing a criminal offense. This law has a tremendous impact of many drivers. A conviction can severely impact automobile and life insurance rates and can interfere with security clearances and one's ability to obtain or maintain certain employment. A criminal conviction in Virginia is for life (even if it comes off of your DMV driver transcript after 11 years, it remains on your criminal record for life).
Despite the fact that the prosecution can prove many reckless driving cases, if certain steps are taken before court, it is possible for an attorney to negotiate a non-reckless driving resolution of cases in Fairfax County and other Virginia jurisdictions. If you have been issued a summons for reckless driving under 46.2-862, 46.2-852, or another reckless driving code section, you should consult with a Fairfax Reckless Driving Defense Lawyer about your options.
Post a Comment to "Virginia Reckless Driving-Is it Really a Criminal Offense?"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."