"We highly recommend Mr. Manikas, he is a specialist and professional on both sides our legal system. His experience as a former prosecutor gives his clients an added advantage during the legal defense process. . . Kyle Manikas is a rising star attorney that judges are made from."
"He made strategic use of legal tools that other lawyers we had consulted never mentioned were available. He is a masterful litigator [and] achieved a remarkably positive outcome, even earning compliments from the judge for his outstanding work."
"He understands how both sides think and can anticipate the reactions and legal posturing that comes from the process. His intimate knowledge of the internal structure (Fairfax County) makes retaining Kyle's services invaluable."
"One of Northern Virginia's best"
"He knew the system inside and out, to include intangible experiences gained while working as a prosecuting attorney in the very same court where he now defends clients."
"I had received a list of quality lawyers from a Fairfax County Judge (which Kyle Manikas was on) . . . I decided to use Kyle Manikas for several reasons. First, I felt [his] time in prosecutor's office would result in strong relationships with the current prosecutors. Second, when talking to [him] on the phone, I got the sense [he] had superior understanding . . . of the . . . law and had the best feel for how things would progress."
What Will Happen to My License if I am Convicted of DWI/DUI/Drunk Driving in Virginia?
The answer to this question depends largely on the facts and circumstances of your individual case, including your blood alcohol level ("BAC"), whether it is a first or subsequent offense, and whether there are any aggravating circumstances present.
If the case is a standard DWI/DUI, with a BAC below .15, generally your license will be suspended for 12 months; however, the Fairfax County or Northern Virginia judge will most likely grant restricted driving privileges that cover driving to and from school, work, medical appointments, etc. Unfortunately, judges do not have complete discretion to grant any driving privileges you ask for. The categories of driving that can be authorized under a restricted license are set by the Virginia Code and judges have no authority to go outside the bounds the legislature has established. For higher BACs on a first offense, the judge may require that you start ASAP and receive a favorable evaluation before authoring the restricted license. If you have a high BAC, you should speak to our office because there may be things you can do in advance of court to help assure your restricted license is granted immediately if you are convicted.
Second offenses require a 36 month license loss. However, you are not eligible to receive a restricted license right away. If it is a second offense within five years of the first offense, you must wait at least one year after your conviction date before you can apply for a restricted license. If you are convicted of a second offense within 10 years of the first, you must wait four months after your conviction date to apply for a restricted license,.
Of course, these are all starting point for analysis. If your case involved aggravating factors, such as an accident, the judge may decide that he will not grant a restricted license at all. Restricted license applications are in the sole discretion of the judge. Moreover, in Virginia if you are granted a restricted license, installation of an interlock device is a mandatory precondition to driving on the restricted license.
An experienced DWI lawyer can evaluate the specific facts of your case and better advise you concerning your situation. Contact our office for a consultation.