Virginia Class 1 Misdemeanor
Many people are shocked to learn that Virginia has criminalized simple speeding. What does that mean? In Virginia, if you are traveling at a speed 20 MPH over the limit or above 80, you can be charged with a criminal offense. Not just any criminal offense, but a Class 1 misdemeanor. In Virginia, that is the most serious of the 4 levels of misdemeanor offenses. The next offense level up would be a felony.
Reckless driving is punishable by up to 1 year in jail, a $2,500 fine, and a 6 month license suspension. Some people treat this as a glorified speeding ticket and that is a HUGE mistake.
Permanent Criminal Record
If you are convicted, you will have a permanent criminal record with the FBI for the rest of your life. This is different from a DMV record. A reckless driving will drop off of you DMV record in Virginia after 11 years BUT it will never come off of your NCIC criminal record. You will be a convicted criminal.
Get Help from a Fairfax Reckless Driving Defense Lawyer
Learn more about what it means to be charged with reckless driving by speaking with an experienced Fairfax Virginia Reckless Driving Defense Lawyer. Call 703-556-0004 or use the Contact Us box to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation. Kyle Manikas will analyze your Fairfax case from the perspective of a former Fairfax County prosecutor who has an inside understanding of the Fairfax system you will face.