Virginia Reckless Driving - What You Need to Know
DO YOU KNOW... the consequences of a reckless driving conviction?
• A permanent criminal record
• Up to 12 months jail time
• Up to a $2,500 fine
• A six-month license suspension
Reckless Driving is NOT a glorified speeding ticket in Virginia
Reckless driving is aggressively prosecuted in Virginia. It is NOT a traffic offense. Rather, it is a criminal offense – a Class 1 misdemeanor. A Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor in Virginia. The next more serious offense is a felony. Some other Class 1 misdemeanors include assault and battery, possession with intent to distribute marijuana, DUI, prostitution, theft, credit card fraud and sexual battery.
If convicted, you will have a criminal record. This can present problems if you have to have a security clearance (or are seeking a clearance) or have an employer (or prospective employer) who runs a criminal background check. Even applications for life insurance now ask whether the applicant has ever been convicted of reckless driving. In other words, there can be consequences beyond your auto insurance rates skyrocketing (some insurance companies now triple the auto insurance rates of those convicted of reckless driving – as much or more than for those convicted of a first DUI).
This guide to teaches individuals…
• How to hire the right lawyer
• How to avoid making serious mistakes that could hurt your case
• How a reckless driving charge can be defended
The guide is FREE and there is no obligation.